• de
  • en
  • it
  • fr
Goldene Kugel Walter Bankhammer mit Familie

The Goldene Kugel – hundreds of years of beer history

The Goldene Kugel, situated at Judengasse 3, right in the middle of Salzburg’s Old Town, is a very special kind of restaurant. The narrow, venerable building has stood on this spot for centuries. Its first recorded mention, as “Guglbräu”, was in 1327. The building, which is a registered historical landmark, is home to an authentic tavern culture: we love getting together over a good beer, with great food too, of course – in a convivial and hospitable atmosphere. The Goldene Kugel aims to ensure that locals feel at home and that visitors to Salzburg enjoy its great atmosphere. Because a tavern like ours should be somewhere everyone wants to visit, is happy to stay and is keen to return to.

Our beers and speciality dishes also have a unique history. We serve outstanding beers from the Munich‑based Augustiner Brewery, and the best of Bavarian and Austrian cuisine. We place a high value on regional produce and home‑made products – and on creating flavours you won’t forget!

We have a total capacity of 300 seats in a rustic atmosphere over 3 floors. Wherever you decide to sit, you can choose either to serve yourself from the buffet or to be served at your table. Whether you’re after a light snack or a lavish meal, you will always be served what we love best: freshly‑prepared traditional dishes made with local ingredients.

Even our menu takes the traditional approach:

  • From 11 am we serve warm Leberkas (traditional meatloaf) and fresh Weißwürscht (sausage speciality).
  • From 11.30 am we serve lunch from our kitchen with traditional meat dishes.
  • In the afternoon, we provide snacks and nibbles including specialities such as Essigwurscht (sliced sausage with onions and vinaigrette) or Saures Rindfleisch (cold beef salad with vinaigrette).
  • From 5.30 pm our full menu is available, with speciality meat dishes and all the traditional tavern fare. We offer different Salzburg specialities each week, too.

A warm welcome to you! We hope you enjoy your meal and wish you a pleasant visit to Salzburg.

Your hosts

Walter und Monika Bankhammer

Location

Contact

Bankhammer’s Wirtshaus GmbH

Judengasse 3 • 5020 Salzburg • Austria

Tel. 0662 2653820

Email: office@goldene-kugel.at

Opening hours

daily from 11 am – 11 pm

• de
  • en
  • it
  • fr
Goldene Kugel Walter Bankhammer mit Familie

Goldene Kugel – Haus mit jahrhundertelanger Biergeschichte.

Die Goldene Kugel in der Judengasse 3 in mitten der Salzburger Altstadt ist ein Wirtshaus der besonderen Art. Hier steht seit jeher ein schmales aber ehrwürdiges Gebäude. Die erste urkundliche Erwähnung findet sich im Jahr 1327 als „Guglbräu“. Im Inneren der denkmalgeschützten Mauern wird echte Wirtshauskultur gelebt: Wir lieben das gemütliche Beisammensein bei einem guten Bier, natürlich einem guten Essen auf dem Teller – und die familiäre Gastlichkeit rundherum. Im Braugasthaus Goldene Kugel soll sich der Salzburger wohlfühlen und auch jeder Salzburger Gast die Stimmung genießen. Denn ein Wirtshaus ist etwas, wo jedermann gern reingeht, gern sitzenbleibt und wiederkommt.

Auch Bier und Speisen haben hier eine besondere Geschichte. Das Münchner Augustinerbräu sorgt für exzellente Biere, dazu bieten wir Ihnen die besten Schmankerl der bayerisch-österreichischen Küche. Dabei legen wir besonderen Wert auf regionale Herkunft und handwerkliche Verarbeitung – und auf reinen Geschmack, den man nicht vergisst!

Auf drei Ebenen mit insgesamt 300 Sitzplätzen geht es bei uns urig zu. Egal wo Sie sich niederlassen: Unsere Gäste haben immer die Wahl, sich am Buffet zu bedienen oder sich bedienen zu lassen. Ob es eine kleine Brotzeit oder ein Festmahl sein soll – es wird überall serviert, was wir am liebsten mögen: Frisch zubereitete Traditionsgerichte mit Zutaten aus der Region.

Auch unsere Speisekarte hält sich an altbewährte Gesetze:

  • Ab 11 Uhr gibt’s warmen Leberkas und frische Weißwürscht.
  • Ab 11.30 Uhr gibt’s Mittagessen aus der Metzgerküche.
  • Der Nachmittag ist zum „Untern“ (Jause/Brotzeit) dazu Schmankerl wie die Essigwurscht und Saures Rindfleisch.
  • Ab 17.30 Uhr gibt’s wieder das volle Programm: Unsere Fleisch-Spezialitäten und alle Wirtshausklassiker. Wöchentlich wechselnd gibt’s Salzburger Spezialitäten.

Wir heißen Sie herzlich willkommen, wünschen Ihnen einen Guten Appetit und einen gmiatlichen Aufenthalt!

Ihre Wirtsleut

Walter und Monika Bankhammer

Der Weg zu uns:

Kontakt

Bankhammer's Wirtshaus GmbH

Judengasse 3 • 5020 Salzburg

Tel. 0662 2653820

Email: office@goldene-kugel.at

Öffnungszeiten

täglich von 11 - 23 Uhr